What Is It?

Travel through a tasteful journey of good food at the JoburgPlaces Migrant Cuisine Storytelling Dinner. The evening promises to be filled with delicious eats and delights.

Typical schedule:
6:30pm: Guests arrive and mingle at the bar in the Zwipi Underground
7:00pm: Guests gather in the Scatterlings Arcade for the introductory story: the six phases of Johannesburg (each of which brought a new wave of migrants).
7:40pm: Two Asian-inspired starters served in the Zwipi Underground
8:20pm: Storytelling: Johannesburg’s Asian communities during the Gold Rush and later (Cape Malay, Indian and Chinese) and the story of Pan-African migration and an introduction to the main courses.
8:50pm: Two Pan-African mains
9:25pm: Guests gather in the Main Vault Room for storytelling. The story of the United Safety Deposit vault, Somerset House and the Thunder Walker project, including the Thunder Walker Poem
10:05pm: Two Desserts are served

When Is It?

Friday, 03 April 2020 at 19:00.

Where Is It?

Thunder Walker, Gandhi Square,  110 Fox Street, Johannesburg, Gauteng.

How Much Is It?

Entrance is R680 per person, book Here!

For More Information

For more information, visit their Facebook page.

At the 21st celebration of the The South African Style Awards accolades will be bestowed upon stalwarts in their respective fields, as well as young individuals making their mark.

A celebration of excellence, from Most Innovative Style to Most Stylish Business Personality, Most Stylish SA Icon to the Arts & Philanthropic Icon Award, introduced in 2016, every year sponsors and judges unite in the search for South Africa’s most stylish individuals; and over the years The South African Style Awards have showcased the glamour, success and unmistakable sense of style of some of South Africa’s most stylish personalities.

Previous winners include Basetsana Kumalo, Ursula Chikane, Bonang Matheba, Lindiwe Suttle, Carolyn Steyn, Gisèle Wertheim Aymés, Nomzamo Mbatha, Terry Pheto, Jeannie D, Elana Afrika, Tamara Dey, Nina Milner, Pnina Fenster, Gavin Rajah and Lady Kitty Spencer.

A host of judges are handpicked from Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban and are asked to nominate two people whom they believe to be outstandingly stylish in nine different categories – from the wild to the wonderful; the fantastic to the faces, identifying tomorrow’s stars and celebrating last year’s trendsetters. This is by no means a "best-dressed" accolade, but rather a celebration of style excellence.

Sponsors this year include: Sandton City, Tsogo Sun, Sandton Sun, Grey Goose, Bombay Sapphire, Skins Cosmetics, Ashbourne wines, Wings Group, Martini Prosecco, Carlton Hair, Medi-Sculpt, Acqua Panna and San Pellegrino.

This year's categories and winners are:

Most Innovative Style LootLove

Most Stylist Performing Artist in Film or TV Thembisa Mdoda

Most Stylish Performing Artist in Music Black Coffee

Most Stylish Media Personality Ayanda Thabethe

Most Stylish Designer Interior or Fashion Tristan du Plessis

Most Stylist Model Candice Swanepoel

Most Stylish Business Personality Colin Coleman

Most Stylish Couple Dineo Moeketsi and Solo

Most Stylish SA Icon The Late Jenny Andrew (a posthumous award)

The Next Big Thing/Style in the City Kefilwe Mabote & Clare Wiese Wentzel