The South African Style Awards 2017


It’s that time of year again, when the country’s fashion and style elite come together for the prestigious South African Style Awards, taking place on Sunday 5 November at Sandton City. Dedicated to finding and celebrating South Africa’s trendsetters, who create a benchmark for excellence in their specific career paths, The Awards are more about individuals who act as a source of inspiration, and a guide for young people, to realise that through hard work and determination, they too are able to fulfill their dreams.

At the 21st celebration of the The South African Style Awards accolades will be bestowed upon stalwarts in their respective fields, as well as young individuals making their mark.

A celebration of excellence, from Most Innovative Style to Most Stylish Business Personality, Most Stylish SA Icon to the Arts & Philanthropic Icon Award, introduced in 2016, every year sponsors and judges unite in the search for South Africa’s most stylish individuals; and over the years The South African Style Awards have showcased the glamour, success and unmistakable sense of style of some of South Africa’s most stylish personalities.

Previous winners include Basetsana Kumalo, Ursula Chikane, Bonang Matheba, Lindiwe Suttle, Carolyn Steyn, Gisèle Wertheim Aymés, Nomzamo Mbatha, Terry Pheto, Jeannie D, Elana Afrika, Tamara Dey, Nina Milner, Pnina Fenster, Gavin Rajah and Lady Kitty Spencer.

A host of judges are handpicked from Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban and are asked to nominate two people whom they believe to be outstandingly stylish in nine different categories – from the wild to the wonderful; the fantastic to the faces, identifying tomorrow’s stars and celebrating last year’s trendsetters. This is by no means a “best-dressed” accolade, but rather a celebration of style excellence.

Sponsors this year include: Sandton City, Tsogo Sun, Sandton Sun, Grey Goose, Bombay Sapphire, Skins Cosmetics, Ashbourne wines, Wings Group, Martini Prosecco, Carlton Hair, Medi-Sculpt, Acqua Panna and San Pellegrino.

This year’s categories and winners are:

Most Innovative Style LootLove

Most Stylist Performing Artist in Film or TV Thembisa Mdoda

Most Stylish Performing Artist in Music Black Coffee

Most Stylish Media Personality Ayanda Thabethe

Most Stylish Designer Interior or Fashion Tristan du Plessis

Most Stylist Model Candice Swanepoel

Most Stylish Business Personality Colin Coleman

Most Stylish Couple Dineo Moeketsi and Solo

Most Stylish SA Icon The Late Jenny Andrew (a posthumous award)

The Next Big Thing/Style in the City Kefilwe Mabote & Clare Wiese Wentzel

UPCOMING EVENTS RELATED TO The South African Style Awards 2017


Subscribe to our



Follow us


More Articles

Subscribe to Joburg!