Search
Generic filters

Try these: Food and DrinkBlack FridayEntertainment

Home » Kedibone Releases On DStv BoxOffice This November!

Kedibone Releases On DStv BoxOffice This November!

Est. Reading: 3 minutes
Releasing on DStv BoxOffice on Friday, 05 November 2021,  Kedibone, a South African film by Thomas Gumede, premieres exclusively for DStv customers. Plus, stand the chance of winning R5 000 in cash! Keep reading to find out how to enter.

Don't Miss Kedibone

How long can you live the double life of being a ‘good girl’ in the township, and the ‘it girl’ on the wealthy streets of Johannesburg? That’s the big question posed by Kedibone, a new film by actor and director Thomas Gumede (Mandela, Long Walk to Freedom 2013; Ayanda, 2015; and Single Guys, 2013). The film releases on BoxOffice by DStv on Friday, 05 November 2021.

Kedibone

About The Movie

Kedibone Manamela is a poor, beautiful Sotho girl from the township and an aspiring actress. Her devoted boyfriend has put himself in debt to pay for her tertiary education. But while she is studying in Johannesburg, she starts to attract attention from rich hunks, celebrities and businessmen who promise her the affluent life she has always desired. What he doesn’t know won’t hurt him, surely? Can Kedibone live a double life and enjoy the best of both worlds?

Gumede says the film is inspired by the reality of life in South Africa. “Kedibone’s experience is that of many young black women in the country. The film mirrors the socio-economic challenges faced by young people as well as the glitz and glamour that attracts them to Johannesburg.

In the title role is Natasha Thahane, a New York Film Academy alum, who stars as Wendy Dlamini in the Netflix teen drama Blood and Water. She is also a brand ambassador for French cosmetic company Garnier.

Starring as Kedibone’s boyfriend Mrembula is Wright Ngubeni, who began acting as a teenager in the SABC 1 television series Generations as Jonathan Motene. He also appeared in e.tv’s Rhythm City as Thula and the SABC 1 sitcom Thulani No Thuli. He was in the films Human Cargo (2004), Duma (2005), and Faith's Corner (2005).

Kedibone

Kenneth Nkosi stars in the role of Franco, a very wealthy older man who gives Kedibone  money, expensive gifts and a lifestyle of luxury in exchange for her company. Popular on television and on the big screen, Nkosi is a well-known actor who has starred in Otelo Burning (2011), Ayanda (2015), Five Fingers for Marseilles, (2017), and Blessers (2019).

Kedibone was shot by Lance Gewer, an internationally recognised filmmaker and cinematographer with more than three decades of experience behind him. The film is produced by Andrew Mahlangu of Shack Pictures, and producer, executive producer, scriptwriter and director Hardy Maoto. It was made with the support of Smatsatsa Communications and the Department of Trade and Industry (dti).

Kedibone

Helen Kuun, MD of Indigenous Film Distribution says, “Small screen film premieres are making it possible to share to share top-quality local entertainment with audiences in the comfort of their own homes. We are pulling out all the stops to attract a wider audience and the results have been fantastic.

Kedibone is distributed in South Africa by Indigenous Film Distribution.

Kedibone

The Cast

Director: Thomas Gumede: @thomasgumede
Executive Producer: Hardy Maoto: @hardymaoto
Producer: Andrew Mahlangu: @andrew_mahlangu_smc

Natasha Thahane: @natasha_thahane

Wright Ngubeni: @wrightngubeni

Kenneth Nkosi: @kennethnkosi

 Busisiwe Mtshali: @bucee_m

Thabo Malema : @thabo_malemasa

Matli Mohapeloa: @matlimohapeloa

Tessa Twala: @tessa_twala

 Tamsanqa Mngqolo: @thamimngqolo

Unathi Guma: @unati_guma

 Kwezi  Ndlovu: @kwezi_ndlovu

 Melvina Eheli: @melvina_eheli

Keke Mphuti: @kekemphuti_official

 Sivenathi Mabuya: @sivemabuya

For More Information

For more information about this movie, visit their Instagram profile.

WIN!

Stand a chance to WIN R5 000 cash!

All you have to do is:

  • Visit the Joburg.co.za and Kedibone Instagram pages.
  • Give us a follow.
  • Find the Kedibone competition post and tell us in the comments what’s the craziest thing you’ve done for love?
  • Don't forget to add the hashtag #KediboneTheMovie to your comment!

Ts & Cs apply.

This competition closes on Thursday, 11 November 2021. Winner will be selected on Friday, 12 November 2021 and announced on Tuesday, 16 November 2021.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Popular Now

Subscribe to our newsletter

More articles